To: ALL MEMBERS

Date: 3rd April 2017

From: RORY STANBRIDGE

Circular Number: G23/17

Ref: RMS/SAM

Subject: REPORT OF THE 37th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE UK LAND & HYDROGRAPHIC SURVEY ASSOCIATION LTD HELD AT 10.00 ON WEDNESDAY 29th MARCH 2017, AT THE NATIONAL BREWERY CENTRE, BURTON UPON TRENT, STAFFORDSHIRE, DE14 1NG

Attendees

Adam Bradley - Jacobs UK (AGM Chairman)

Nick Smith - 3D Services

David Johnson - Amethyst Surveys

Mark Jones - Amethyst Surveys

Tony Rogers - APR Services

Tim Viney - Atlantic Geomatics

Olly Viney - Atlantic Geomatics

Martin Sawyer - Brandon Surveys

Ian Balfour - Bury Associates Ltd

Phil Tapp - Bury Associates Ltd

Alison Watson - Class of Your Own

Nathan Spencer - CSL Surveys (Stevenage) Ltd

Chris Tutin – C T Surveys

Berkeley Dando - Dando Surveying Ltd

Richard Allen - EDI Surveys

Andy Pettifer – ELS Land Consultants

Ashley Mathieson – Freedom g map

Kate Bazeley - Freedom g map

Malcolm Wheatman - Global Surveys

Bob Dimond – H D Surveying Ltd

Jim Jackson - J C White Geomatics Ltd

Nick Blakeway – Jacobs UK

Steven Woodards - Jacobs UK

Andy Barton - Jelf

Oliver Brooks - Korec Group

John Fraser – Leica Geosystems

Mike Skicko – Leica Geosystems

Matthew Todd - Locate Surveys

Emma Poole - Lockton

Stuart Dimond - M K Surveys

Gordon Livie – M K Surveys

Adrian Halliwell - M & A Surveys

Martin Mulholland - MD Safety Management

Geoff Davies - MD Safety Management

Neil Harvey - Met Geo

Sam Roberts - Met Geo

Peter Maxwell - Midland Surveys

Rob Brassington - M J Rees & Co

Nick Hampson - MHLS

Diarmuid Murphy – Murphy Surveys

Mark McGarragh - Ogilvie Geomatics

Rob Wesson – On Centre Surveys

Andy Gilbert – Ordnance Survey



Steve Ashcroft – Paragon Surveys Stuart Whenmouth - Randall Surveys Stephen Postians - RPS Group Charlie Cropp – SCCS Carol Foley – SEP (Site Engineering Personnel) Ltd John Gardner - SEP (Site Engineering Personnel) Ltd Simon Bailey - Site Vision Surveys David Crossley - Siteline Mark Kieras - Siteline Neil Richardson - Spatial Data Ltd Mike Hopkins – Storm Geomatics Sandy Weaver - Subsight Surveys Peter Barker - Sumo Services Peter Marsh - Sumo Services Dave Orritt - Survey Operations Ian Smith - Survey Operations Graham Mills - Technics Group Andy Beardsley – Terra Measurement Darren Robson - Terra Measurement John Lane - Terrain Surveys Andrew Crumpler - The Survey School Ian Pennington - Trimble Damien Campbell-Bell – Wessex Archaeology

Also Present:

Rory Stanbridge – TSA Secretary General Rachel Tyrrell – TSA Manager Susan Murphy – TSA Office Manager Sharon Wilkins – The Survey School

In Attendance (Guests)

Chris Little – Chris Little Training Services Ltd Gordon Jenkins – CSCS Dr Henny Mills – Newcastle University Robin Sandry – Sandry Studio

1 Apologies

Chris Gill - AECOM Olivia Masters - Airbus Space & Defence Matt Dymond - Amethyst Surveys Rob McLean - Archidata Ltd Nick Smith - Buckingham Group David Watterston - CD Surveys Andrew Larch - CD Surveys David Harwood - CD Surveys Steve Walker - CSTA Graham Stroud - Ground Surveys Mike Guntripp - J C White Anne King – Kingsland Surveys Nick Minns - LSTC Craig Simmonds - Macleod Simmonds Eunice Williams - Marshall Survey Kai Duebbert - Murphy Surveys Stuart Edwards - Newcastle University Jon Mills – Newcastle University Norman Oliver - N D Oliver & Co Peter Todd - Ordnance Surveys

Howard Wood – Site Surveying Services Martin Penney – Technics Group

2 Approval of the report of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting were accepted without amendment. Proposed by Nick Hampson and seconded by Mike Hopkins.

3 Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

4 To approve the Resolution: To receive the 37th Annual Report and the report and accounts for 2016.

These were accepted and approved without amendment.

Proposed by Olly Viney and seconded by Graham Mills.

To approve the Resolution: To appoint Park Accountancy as the Association's accountants for the coming year.

The Chairman stated that at last year's AGM a motion was proposed and carried to seek out a new firm of accountants. The new firm of accountants is Park Accountancy and so far they have performed very well. The resolution therefore is to appoint them for the year 2017.

Proposed by Adrian Halliwell and seconded by Tony Rogers

6 To announce the composition of the Council, and the incoming President and Vice President

The Chairman announced the composition of the new Council as:

Adam Bradley – President Vice President – Nick Hampson.

Council: Graham Mills, Adrian Halliwell, Mike Hopkins, Oliver Viney, Tony Rogers, David Watterston, Stuart Dimond, Sam Roberts and Peter Marsh.

The Chairman expressed his thanks to Mark Combes who stood down in October 2016 for his contribution to Council and the Presidency. He also expressed his thanks to Olivia Masters and Mike Page who have both stood down from Council. Finally he welcomed to Council Sam Roberts and Peter Marsh to Council following their recent election.

The Chairman stated that there is one place still available on Council and invited interested parties to speak to him over the lunchtime break. Subsequent to this, Nathan Spencer was co-opted on to Council.

7 President's Award

The President informed the meeting that Lockton, the recommended PI Insurers for TSA, had introduced in 2008 an annual prize to be awarded at the discretion of the President. The Award is given to a person who the President believes has made an outstanding contribution to The Survey Association or the survey profession.

This year the award was presented to Richard Maltby, by Emma Poole from Lockton, for his outstanding commitment to improving training standards within the survey profession. The presentation ceremony being carried out just before the lunchtime break. In addition to the trophy, a cheque in the sum of £100 will be donated to a charity of the recipient's choice.

8 Any other business

There was no AOB.

9 Closing of AGM

The Chairman expressed his thanks to all members of Council and Committees for their continued efforts on behalf of TSA and to the Secretariat for their excellent and continuing support.

He then announced that the next TSA Conference will be held on Wednesday 8th November 2017, at the Museum of the Great Western Railway in Swindon. The topic is "Surveying on the Railways."

The meeting closed at 10.15.