To: ALL MEMBERS

Date: 25th April 2018

From: RORY STANBRIDGE

Circular Number: G47/18

Ref: RMS/SAM



REPORT OF THE 38th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE UK LAND & HYDROGRAPHIC SURVEY ASSOCIATION LTD HELD AT 10.15 ON WEDNESDAY 18TH APRIL 2018 AT EDGBASTON CRICKET GROUND, BIRMINGHAM.

Attendees

Adam Bradley - Jacobs UK (AGM Chairman)

Alex Riley - 3D Scan Solutions Ltd

David Gibbs - 3D Services

Angela Werner - Academy Leasing Ltd

David Johnson - Amethyst Surveys

Andy Bradford - APR Services

Olly Viney - Atlantic Geomatics

Jill Tickle - Blue Hat Services Ltd

James Trower - Brandon Surveys Ltd

Callum Tyler - Brandon Surveys Ltd

Luke Steadman – CAT Surveys Ltd

David Watterston - CD Surveys Ltd

Nigel Lea - Citation

Brett Taylor - Citation

Stephen Walker - Construction Skills Training Academy

Nathan Spencer - CSL Surveys (Stevenage) Ltd

Dave Luscombe - Datatag Ltd

Colin Tickle - Drilline Products Ltd

Andy Pettifer – ELS Land Consultants

Andy Roberts – Formby Surveys Ltd

Sheila Ramaiva - Geo Business Show

Malcolm Wheatman - Global Surveys

Steve Hollis - Global Surveys

Neil Jefferies - Greenhatch Group Ltd

Mike Guntripp - J C White Geomatics Ltd

Nick Blakeway - Jacobs UK

Andy Barton - Jelf

Jared Pogmore - KOREC

Ryan Bowles - KOREC

Helen Gilmartin - KOREC

James Phillips - KOREC

Alan Browne - KOREC

Steve Hawkins - Laser Surveys Ltd

John Fraser – Leica Geosystems

Martin Edwards – Leica Geosystems

David Isherwood - Lockton

Mark Beaver - Mark Beaver Surveying

David Maltby - MBS Survey Software Ltd

Adrian Halliwell - M & A Surveys

Nick Hampson - MHLS

Rob Brassington - M J Rees & Co

Stephen Winship - MW Surveys Ltd

Stuart Dimond - M K Surveys

Gordon Livie – M K Surveys

Tim Faulkner - M K Surveys

Colin Murphy – Murphy Surveys

Rekha Voralia - Murphy Surveys

Richard Bowler - Ordnance Survey

Lucy Powers – Powers & Tiltman

Stephen Postians - RPS Group

Oliver Brooks - SEP (Site Engineering Personnel) Ltd

Jamie Price - Severn Partnership Ltd

Steve Jones - Severn Partnership Ltd

Simon Bailey - Site Vision Surveys

Paul Cox - Site Vision Surveys

Rachel Allison - Siteline

Mark Kieras - Siteline

Stuart Hussey - Speedy Asset Services Ltd

Paula Field - Speedy Asset Services Ltd

Mike Hopkins - Storm Geomatics

Polly Hopkins - Storm Geomatics

Peter Barker - Sumo Services

Dave Orritt - Survey Operations

Ian Smith - Survey Operations

David Price - Survey Max

Graham Mills - Technics Group

Andy Beardsley - Terra Measurement

Dale Rose – Terra Measurement John Lane – Terrain Surveys

Andrew Crumpler - The Survey School

Simon Crowhen - Topcon

Ian Pennington - Trimble

Charlie Cropp - Z+F Laser UK Ltd

Also Present:

Rory Stanbridge - TSA Secretary General Rachel Tyrrell - TSA Manager Susan Murphy – TSA Office Manager

In Attendance (Guests)

Gordon Jenkins - CSCS

Ruth Badley - P R Consultant

Robin Sandry - Sandry Studio

1 **Apologies**

Chris Tutin - C T Surveys Ltd

Kirsten Gamet – Geosight

Graham Stroud - Ground Surveys Ltd

Anne King - Kingsland Surveyors Ltd

Nick Minns - LSTC

Richard Maltby - Maltby Land Surveys Ltd

Martin Mulholland – MD Safety Management

Geoff Davies - MD Safety Management

Sam Roberts - Met Geo

Norman Oliver - N D Oliver & Co Ltd

Peter Todd - Ordnance Survey

Neil Richardson - Spatial Data

David Bennett - Topcon

Ian Stilgoe - Topcon

Levi Brown - Topcon

2 Approval of the report of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting were accepted without amendment. Proposed by Nathan Spencer and seconded by Adrian Halliwell.

3 Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

4 To approve the Resolution: To receive the 38th Annual Report and the report and accounts for 2017.

These were accepted and approved without amendment.

Proposed by Mike Hopkins and seconded by Nick Hampson.

5 To approve the Resolution: To appoint Park Accountancy as the Association's accountants for the coming year.

The Chairman stated that Park Accountancy had given TSA excellent support over the last twelve months.

Proposed by Graham Mills and seconded by Adrian Halliwell.

6

To announce the composition of the Council, and the incoming President and Vice President

The Chairman announced the composition of the new Council as:

Adam Bradley – President Vice President – Nick Hampson.

Council: Graham Mills, Adrian Halliwell, Mike Hopkins, Oliver Viney, Tony Rogers, David Watterston, Stuart Dimond, Sam Roberts, Nathan Spencer and Lucy Powers.

The Chairman welcomed both Nathan Spencer, who had previously been a coopted member, and Lucy Powers who has now been elected to Council. He also thanked Luke Steadman who had put his name forward for the election but had been unsuccessful in gaining sufficient votes to be elected.

The Chairman then offered his sincere thanks to all members of Council for their work and dedication over the last twelve months.

7 President's Award

The President informed the meeting that Lockton, the recommended PI Insurers for TSA, had introduced in 2008 an annual prize to be awarded at the discretion of the President. The Award is given to a person who the President believes has made an outstanding contribution to The Survey Association or the survey profession.

This year the award was presented to Andrew Crumpler for his dedicated and lengthy contribution to the training of our future surveyors through his work at the Survey School. In addition to the trophy which was presented by David Isherwood from Lockton, a cheque in the sum of £100 will be donated to a charity of the recipient's choice.

8 Any other business

There was no AOB.

9 Closing of AGM

The Chairman again expressed his thanks to all members of Council and Committees for their continued efforts on behalf of TSA and to the Secretariat for their excellent and continuing support.

He then announced that the next TSA Conference will be held on Wednesday 7th November 2018, at Holdenby House, Northamptonshire. The topic for the day will be "**Surveying of iconic structures.**"

The meeting closed at 10.30.