To: ALL MEMBERS

Date: 20TH APRIL 2012

From: RORY STANBRIDGE

Circular Number: G24/12

Ref: G2/SAM



Subject: REPORT OF THE 32nd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE UK LAND & HYDROGRAPHIC SURVEY ASSOCIATION LTD HELD AT 10.15 ON THURSDAY 19TH APRIL 2012, AT THE ORDNANCE SURVEY HQ, ADANAC DRIVE, SOUTHAMPTON SO16 0AS

Attendees

Graham Mills - Technics Group (AGM Chairman) Andy Bradford – APR Services Dan Thain - APR Services John Witherden – Aworth David Watterston – C D Surveys David Andrews - English Heritage Matt French - Fathoms Trevor Burton – Fugro-BKS Ian Coddington – Jacobs Andy Barton – Jelf Lampier David Orde – Korec Dominic Gregory – Korec Steve Hawkins – Laser Surveys Simon Mears – Leica Geosystems Robert Brown – Lewis Brown Ian Lewis – Lewis Brown Ben Rice – Lewis Brown Ben Waterton – Lockton Adam Axtell Powell - Lockton Stewart Hunt - Longdin & Browning Jim Loy - Loy Surveys Adrian Halliwell – M & A Surveys Stephen Rixon – M J Rees Stuart Dimond – M K Surveys Charlie Matthews - MBS Survey Software Bernhard Becker – MHLS John Furniss – MHLS Chris Dunster – Mole Data Surveyors Steve Ashcroft – Paragon Surveys Mark Combes - Severn Partnership Mike Orritt - Site Engineering Personnel Ltd David Crossley - Siteline Rachel Allison – Siteline Mark McGarragh – Star Net Jason Bartlett – Star Net Mike Hopkins - Storm Geomatics Peter Barker – Stratascan John Lane - Terrain Surveys Andy Givens – Topcon Anthony Mills - Trimble Tomas Dyjas – Trimble

Also Present:

Rory Stanbridge – TSA Secretary General Rachel Tyrrell – TSA Administration Manager Susan Murphy – TSA Administration Assistant

<u>Guests</u> Bill Pryke – ICES Mark Lawton - Skanska

1 Apologies

Tim Viney – Atlantic Geomatics Guy Moates – C A Design Services Paul Bryan – English Heritage Chris Edge – Glanville Graham Stroud – Ground Surveys Jason Smith – ICES Mike Guntripp – J C White John White – J C White David Bennett - Korec Mark Johnson – Landmark Surveys Bob Jones - On Centre David Damant – Randall Surveys Simon Bailey – Site Vision Douglas Brown - Star Net Geomatics Martin Weaver - Subsight Ian Smith - Survey Operations

2 Approval of the report of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting were accepted without amendment. Proposed by Matt French and seconded Jim Loy.

3 Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

4 To approve the Resolution: To receive the 32nd Annual Report and the report and accounts for 2011.

The report and accounts were accepted without comment. Proposed by Andy Bradford and seconded by Peter Barker.

5 To approve the Resolution: To appoint CBR Accountancy as the Association's accountants for the coming year.

The Chairman stated that CBR had once again provided an excellent service to TSA during 2011.

The resolution was approved unanimously. Proposed by John Furniss and seconded by Adrian Halliwell.

6 To announce the composition of the Council, and the incoming President and Vice President

The Chairman expressed his thanks to Matt French and Trevor Burton who have both stood down from Council. He then announced the composition of the new Council as:

Graham Mills – President John Witherden – Vice President

Council: John Furniss, Adrian Halliwell, Adam Bradley, Mike Hopkins, Andy Bradford, David Watterson, Stuart Dimond, Mark Combes and Peter Barker.

7 President's Prize

The Chairman informed the meeting that Lockton, the recommended PI Insurers for TSA, had introduced in 2008 an annual prize to be awarded at the discretion of the President. This year the recipient was Matt French in recognition of his dedicated and professional work on both TSA Council and the MIA Committee. As Matt is now retiring from Council, Graham also reiterated his thanks to Matt on behalf of TSA.

A glass trophy was presented by Ben Waterton from Lockton to a slightly bemused Matt and a donation to Matt's favourite charity will be made by Lockton. Rachel Tyrrell also presented Matt with a signed certificate of appreciation from the Secretariat in recognition of his continued support, considerate attitude and his good grammar.

8 Any other business

Jim Loy expressed his desire for more members to stand for Council and emphasised the benefits of working for TSA and putting something back into the industry.

8 Closing of AGM

The Chairman expressed his thanks to all members of Council for their continued efforts on behalf of TSA and to the Secretariat for their excellent and continuing support. The Chairman, in conclusion, once again thanked Lockton for their continued support and sponsorship.

The meeting closed at 10.45.