To: ALL MEMBERS

Date: 18th April 2013

From: RORY STANBRIDGE

Circular Number: G30/13

Ref: G2/SAM



Attendees

Graham Mills - Technics Group (AGM Chairman) Tony Rogers - APR Services Tim Viney – Atlantic Geomatics Oliver Viney - Atlantic Geomatics John Witherden - Aworth David Watterston - C D Surveys Luke Steadman - CAT Surveys Stephen Walker - CSTA Jon Bedford - English Heritage Paul Bryan - English Heritage Adam Bradley - Jacobs Nick Blakeway - Jacobs Dominic Gregory – Korec Group John Fraser – Leica Geosystems Adam Axtell Powell - Lockton Stewart Hunt - Longdin & Browning Adrian Halliwell - M & A Surveys Stuart Dimond - M K Surveys Jay Shakespeare - M K Surveys David Maltby - MBS Neil Harvey – Met Geo John Furniss - MHLS Mike Williams - Midland Surveys Adrian Shaw - PCM Matthew Dunnington Wallace - PCM Magdalena Wolczacka – PCM David Crawford - Photarc Surveys Peter Folwell - Plowman Craven Mark Combes - Severn Partnership Neil Richardson - Spatial Data Roy Stanbury - Stanburys Mike Hopkins – Storm Geomatics Peter Barker - Sumo Services Ltd Chris Mills – Survey Control Services Philip Mills - Survey Control Services

Martin Penney - Technics Group

Angelo Soares – Vision Surveys Marc Burt - Vision Surveys Matt Kirkland - Vision Surveys

Andy Evans – Topcon Anthony Mills – Trimble

Also Present:

Rory Stanbridge – TSA Secretary General Rachel Tyrrell – TSA Administration Manager Susan Murphy – TSA Administration Assistant

<u>Guests</u>

Ruth Badley – Badley Marketing Andy Rhoades – BAA

1 Apologies

Andy Bradford – APR Chris Edge - Glanville Consultants Harry Skinner - Harry Skinner Surveys David Monaghan - Harry Skinner Surveys Robbie Cowan - JBA Consulting Andy Barton – Jelf Anne King - Kingsland Surveyors Mark Johnson – Landmark Surveys Steve Hawkins - Laser Surveys Sue Stewart - Laser Surveys Tim Badley – Leica Geosystems Jon Mills - Newcastle University Bob Jones - On Centre Surveys Steve Ashcroft – Paragon Surveys Stephen Postians - RPS Environmental Management Ltd Nolan Forwood - Survey Design Services Ian Smith - Survey Operations

2 Approval of the report of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting were accepted without amendment. Proposed by Adrian Halliwell and seconded Graham Stroud.

3 Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

4 To approve the Resolution: To receive the 33rd Annual Report and the report and accounts for 2012.

The report and accounts were accepted without comment. Proposed by Peter Barker and seconded by Adam Bradley.

To approve the Resolution: To appoint CBR Accountancy as the Association's accountants for the coming year.

The Chairman stated that CBR had once again provided an excellent service to TSA during 2012.

The resolution was approved unanimously. Proposed by John Furniss and seconded by David Watterston.

6 To announce the composition of the Council, and the incoming President and Vice President

The Chairman expressed his sincere thanks to Olivia Masters who has stood down from Council due to pregnancy. He then announced the composition of the new Council as:

Graham Mills – President Vice President - Stuart Dimond

Council: John Furniss, Adrian Halliwell, Adam Bradley, Mike Hopkins, Andy Bradford, David Watterson, Mark Combes, Peter Barker and John Witherden

7 President's Award

The Chairman informed the meeting that Lockton, the recommended PI Insurers for TSA, had introduced in 2008 an annual prize to be awarded at the discretion of the President. The Award is given to a person who the President believes has made an outstanding contribution to The Survey Association or our industry.

The Chairman went on to say "The last few prizes have been given to TSA Council members for long service or outstanding effort. This year I have decided to look beyond our own organisation. Over the last few years due to the economic situation we have seen many people leaving the industry and of course fewer opportunities for new people to find opportunities to join. As we finally turn the corner new blood is of course going to be essential to our member companies. It is also essential in a very technical world that we encourage children to be interested from an early age in architecture, engineering, construction and surveying.

I am delighted to announce that the President's Award this year goes to **Alison Watson** from Class Of Your Own. Alison has created the Design, Engineer Construct Curriculum and workshops to inspire the next generation. She recently organized a function at the House of Lords, which was a great success with about 120 people from Education, Industry and government there to see presentations from 4 different schools. Alison is also trying to set up strategic partnerships with other leading industry bodies."

Andy Evans from Topcon, Alison's main sponsor, accepted the prize on behalf of Alison which was presented by Adam Axtell Powell from Lockton.

8 Any other business

The President suggested that if any member was interested in joining Council that they should talk to him over lunch.

8 Closing of AGM

The Chairman expressed his thanks to all members of Council for their continued efforts on behalf of TSA and to the Secretariat for their excellent and continuing support. The Chairman, in conclusion, once again thanked Lockton for their continued support and sponsorship.

The meeting closed at 10.46.