To: ALL MEMBERS

Date: 19th April 2016

From: RORY STANBRIDGE

Circular Number: G32/16

Ref:



## **Attendees**

Mark Combes - Severn Partnership (AGM Chairman)

13th APRIL 2016 AT THE NATIONAL MOTORCYCLE MUSEUM, BIRMINGHAM.

Steven Woodards - Airbus Defence & Space Ltd

Thomas Harling - Airbus Defence & Space Ltd

David Johnson - Amethyst Surveys

Stuart Harry - Anthony Brookes Survey Ltd

Tim Viney - Atlantic Geomatics

Steve Bury - Bury Associates Ltd

Phil Tapp - Bury Associates Ltd

David Watterston – C D Surveys

Stephen Walker - Construction Skills Training Academy

Neal Sadd - Constructions Skills Academy

Nathan Spencer - CSL Surveys (Stevenage) Ltd

Berkeley Dandon - Dando surveying Ltd

Colin Tickle - Drilline Products

Jill Tickle - Drilline Products

Elaine Ball - Elaine Ball Technical Marketing Ltd

Ashley Mathieson - Freedom g map

Kate Bazeley - Freedom g map

John Hallett-Jones - Glanville Group

Graham Stroud - Ground Surveys

Rob Stroud - Ground Surveys

Kevin Riddell - Ground Surveys

Bob Dimond – H D Surveying Ltd

Mike Guntripp - J C White Geomatics Ltd

Nick Blakeway - Jacobs UK Ltd

Andy Barton – Jelf

Oliver Brooks - Korec Group

Andrew Beckerson - Korec Group

Peter Collings - Land Development Services Ltd

Stephen Hawkins - Laser Surveys Ltd

Susan Stewart - Laser Surveys

Martin Edwards – Leica Geosystems

James Whitworth – Leica Geosystems

Chris Lennon - Lockton

Scott Brown - Lockton

Richard Maltby - Maltby Surveys

Adrian Halliwell – M & A Surveys

Rob Brassington - M J Rees & Co

John Flaherty - Met Geo

Stuart Dimond - M K Surveys

Gordon Livie - M K Surveys

Nick Hampson - MHLS

Kai Duebbert - Murphy Surveys

Diarmuid Murphy - Murphy Surveys



Andrew Thompson – Ogilvie Geomatics Stewart Hunt - Ogilvie Geomatics Maz Owczarek – Ordnance Survey Matt Feeny - PCM Chetan Varma - PCM Stephen Postians - RPS Group Phil Marsh - SCCS Steve Jones - Severn Partnership Simon Bailey - Site Vision Surveys Damian Taylor - Site Vision Surveys David Crossley - Siteline Alison Gentle - Stanburvs Roy Stanbury - Stanburys Mike Hopkins - Storm Geomatics Mike Page - Subscan Technology Peter Barker - Sumo Services Claire Graham - Sumo Services Dave Orritt - Survey Operations James Cooper - Survey Solutions Pete Ashcroft – Sygma Solutions Gareth Philips – Sygma Solutions Graham Mills – Technics Group Mat Kellett – Topcon GB Ltd Ian Pennington - Trimble Tor-erik Djupos - Trimble

### **Also Present:**

Rory Stanbridge – TSA Secretary General Rachel Tyrrell – TSA Manager Susan Murphy – TSA Office Manager

## <u>Guests</u>

Bill Pryke – ICES Katie Holt – ICES Serena Ronan – ICES Terry Mundy – Lloyds Register Samantha Lee – Lloyds Register

### 1 Apologies

Tony Rogers – APR Services Chris Tutin - CT Surveys Luke Steadman - CAT Surveys Nick Spenceley - CAT Surveys Chris Edge - Glanville Group Malcolm Wheatman - Global Surveys Alex Richards - Insight Marine Jane Richards – Insight Marine Adam Bradley - Jacobs UK Ltd Anne King - Kingsland Surveyors Ltd Mark Johnson – Landmark Surveys (Wales) ltd John Fraser – Leica Geosystems Duncan Rose-Clarke - Midland Survey Marc Ashley - Monument Geomatics Norman Oliver - N D Oliver & Co Jon Mills - Newcastle University Phil Wright - Ogilvie Geomatics Steven Ashcroft - Paragon Surveys

Matthew Powers – Powers & Tiltman Lucy Powers – Powers & Tiltman Rachel Alison – Siteline Neil Richardson – Spatial Data Nolan Forwood – Survey Design Services

# 2 Approval of the report of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting were accepted without amendment. Proposed by Graham Mills and seconded by Adrian Halliwell.

### 3 Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

# 4 To approve the Resolution: To receive the 36<sup>th</sup> Annual Report and the report and accounts for 2015.

These were accepted without amendment subject to the inclusion of Tony Rogers on the list of Council members.

Proposed by Mike Hopkins and seconded by Tim Viney.

# To approve the Resolution: To appoint CBR Accountancy as the Association's accountants for the coming year.

The Chairman stated that CBR had once again provided an excellent service to TSA during 2015. However it was agreed that the accounts are now becoming more complex with the inclusion of The School and it was agreed to seek out a larger accountancy firm later in 2016 to engage. CBR will continue to be engaged for the time being.

The resolution was approved unanimously. Proposed by Nathan Spencer and seconded by David Watterston.

# 6 To announce the composition of the Council, and the incoming President and Vice President

The Chairman announced the composition of the new Council as:

Mark Combes – President Vice President – Adam Bradley

Council: Graham Mills, Stuart Dimond, Adrian Halliwell, Nick Hampson, Olivia Masters (Steve Woodards is standing in during Olivia's maternity leave,) Mike Hopkins, David Watterson, Oliver Viney, Mike Page and Tony Rogers.

The Chairman expressed his thanks to both Graham Mills and Adrian Halliwell for continuing in post for another three year period on Council and welcomed Mike Page who has now been elected on to Council.

### 7 Special Resolution – Change to the Articles and Rules of TSA.

RMS explained the background to this resolution, which was "To change the Articles and Rules of the Association to reduce the stated current notice of membership period required from six months to three months."

The resolution was approved unanimously.

Proposed by Mike Page and seconded by Richard Maltby.

### 8 President's Award

The President informed the meeting that Lockton, the recommended PI Insurers for TSA, had introduced in 2008 an annual prize to be awarded at the discretion of the President. The Award is given to a person who the President believes has made an outstanding contribution to The Survey Association or our industry.

This year, the award was given to Graham Mills for his outstanding contribution to both TSA and the Industry in general. The Chairman went on to say that Graham had acted as President for a record period of five years and also acted as Chairman of both the PR and Technical Committees. He has also performed the duties of Chairman of the Accreditation Committee. In addition to the trophy provided by Lockton and presented by Scott Brown, a cheque in the sum of £100 will be donated to a charity of Graham's choice.

The President then expressed his sincere thanks once again to Lockton for continuing to sponsor this very important prize.

### 9 Any other business

There was no AOB.

### 10 Closing of AGM

The Chairman expressed his thanks to all members of Council and Committees for their continued efforts on behalf of TSA and to the Secretariat for their excellent and continuing support.

He then announced that the next TSA Conference will be held on Wednesday 9<sup>th</sup> November 2016, at the Avoncroft Museum, Bromsgrove. The topic for this will be "Building Surveying."

The meeting closed at 10.50.